As I Lay Dying Announce New Album 'Shaped By Fire', Check Out The Heavy Title Track Now

One of metal's big talking points over the last couple of years has been the return of metalcore band As I Lay Dying, following a three-year jail stint served by frontman Tim Lambesis for attempting to hire a hitman to kill his wife in 2013.

Looking to turn the page, the band have announced a new album titled Shaped By Fire for a September 20 release, which will be their first since in seven years and the first since Lambesis' incarceration.

You can check out the really heavy title track below, then keep scrolling to read an official statement from the band:

We are tremendously grateful to have found positive resolve from the worst moments of our history. The previous chapter of our journey was one of pervasive hurt and pain. Subsequent years found us on varied paths—all of which slowly led towards resolutions of growth, healing, and reconciliation. AS I LAY DYING's collective purpose is to share a message of hope for everyone through the empowering outlet of music, and we are humbled by the overwhelming support we have received from family, friends, and fans so far.

We are honored to join forces with Nuclear Blast Worldwide in releasing our new album Shaped By Fire. Their legacy and contribution to the heavy music scene is undeniably incredible and we are proud to call their label home. We are thankful for their support and enthusiasm and together we look forward to sharing the best AILD record yet!

In conjunction with our new album announcement, we are excited to share a music video for the title track 'Shaped by Fire.' While lyrically akin to the other Shaped By Fire single releases 'My Own Grave' and 'Redefined', we explored some different musical territory to incorporate within our established sound. We’d like to thank our director Mathis Arnell, all of the crew, and actors that contributed to making this video with us under the very hot conditions!

We look forward to seeing our fans out on the road as we embark on the Latin American, European, and US tours before closing the book on 2019.

As I Lay Dying - Shaped By Fire tracklisting:

1 - "Burn To Emerge"
2 - "Blinded"
3 - "Shaped by Fire"
4 - "Undertow"
5 - "Torn Between"
6 - "Gatekeeper"
7 - "The Wreckage"
8 - "My Own Grave"
9 - "Take What's Left"
10 - "Redefined"
11 - "Only After We've Fallen"
12 - "The Toll It Takes"

Listen to As I Lay Dying now.